28. Manhattan – Woody Allen (1978)

Repeat Viewing.

I’m just going to come out and say it, Manhattan is my all-time favourite Woody Allen movie. I know, I know, I know, Annie Hall is fantastic, but this just edges it for me. It’s beautiful, and tragic, and it’s almost perfect. It even has a Kafka joke. I’ve watched it maybe ten times and each viewing leaves me wanting to instantly watch it again. There are more daring Allen movies that ponder far greater questions than the ones you’ll find here, but that doesn’t diminish Manhattan‘s importance in Allen’s filmography. The blend of humour and human failure are no more finely balanced in any other movie. Gershwin’s score and Willis’ photography only enhance this masterpiece. See this movie.

Marks out of ten – Ten

2 Comments

Filed under American

2 responses to “28. Manhattan – Woody Allen (1978)

  1. Anna Karenina

    Clearly you’ve forgotten ‘Hannah & Her Sisters’. Did you ever see ‘Interiors’?

  2. I love ‘Interiors’, it’s perhaps my second favourite after ”Manhattan’ – it’s my favourite of the dramas, certainly. ‘Hannah & Her Sisters’ is the best of his 80s work without a doubt. You could probably pick five or six of Woody’s films and make a good case for them being his finest film.

Leave a Reply

